Home » Lake by Frank D. Gilroy
Lake Frank D. Gilroy

Lake

Frank D. Gilroy

Published
ISBN :
Kindle Edition
62 pages
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

It was 46 years ago that Frank D. Gilroy won the Pulitzer Prize for his play The Subject Was Roses, and 43 years since he began work on Lake. In the vein of Edgar Lee Masterss Spoon River Anthology, Gilroy tells the story of a summer vacationMoreIt was 46 years ago that Frank D. Gilroy won the Pulitzer Prize for his play The Subject Was Roses, and 43 years since he began work on Lake. In the vein of Edgar Lee Masterss Spoon River Anthology, Gilroy tells the story of a summer vacation community in Northern New Jersey over the course of 25 years, the early 1920s through the late 40s. Each chapter is the voice of another character- some are monologues, some more interior than that. The story works its way around the lake, catching a vignette/snapshot/moment from each turn of the wheel. Its a remarkable read from an 86-year-old writer, still at the top of his game.